Would you consider switching your IT to cloud computing?

Poll
Would you consider switching your IT to cloud computing?
Yes 10% [ 4 ]
No 63% [ 25 ]
Maybe 18% [ 7 ]
Don't Know 10% [ 4 ]
Total Votes: 40

Author
SysAid Marketing

According to the headlines, cloud computing and software as a service (SaaS) providers are expected to make vast improvements in 2009. Computer World industry pundits predict: 'The biggest technology winners in 2009 will be cloud computing, SaaS and technologies that enable companies to integrate cloud computing and SaaS into their existing in-house IT infrastructures.' The Wall Street Journal points out that '...the slumping economy now has many businesses looking at the category for the first time.'

What are your thoughts? Would you consider switching your IT to cloud computing?
SysAider

Personally I think it is a load of waffle.

As a developer I have tested 4 different cloud computing companies for some of my clients and they all broke at some point.
Cloud computing is supposed to be "expandable" so that your sites will never have congestion issues...4 out of 4 tested said X.
Cloud computing in it's stripped down version, once you get rid of the technical words that were actually only just made up and currently have no real basis in the computing world, is nothing more than a VPS.
A standard VPS which has a dedicated server technician will run as well as any cloud system.

One of the biggest problems I found with using cloud computing was permissions. Due to the VPS nature of cloud there are many companies being served from the same resources and thus developers are never allowed to have full access to a server.

There is a plus, however...I did find one...overheads are almost totally erased.