CMDB..... Huh ?

Author

Ok.. I got the idea of the whole change management thing.
But I still don't see how it works in SysAid.
Will it be just an information store to be reference... or it actually integrates as the asset appear on the helpdesk.

So say I have define asset A effect report B.
When the owner of asset A send service on helpdesk will SysAid automagically alert me... this is not regular asset... this one is special and you got problem regarding report B.
Is that how it works ?
Elite SysAider

i have been using sysaid for over 2 years, and have read wide selection about ITIL v2, v3 documents that something like CMDB modules inside. Coming to sysaid i still don't know where and how efectively use CMDB module. Some scenarios about using and why/when using this module would be great.
SysAid Wiz

I got the chance to play with the CMDB a little bit, and as a system administrator, it seems to me like the best thing since bread came sliced (or SysAid, i have a hard time making up my mind on this )

I mean that the option to add unlimited inventory items, and see the relations between your assets, services, software and your suppliers and users is just spectacular.

When you will start using the CMDB in your organization, the CMBD module will be a part of every IT action you will do.

Lets say you have a server, and you need to take it down for upgrades.
Using the CMDB module, you can see which of your services are provided by this server and will be done, and even which assets will be effected.

So lets say that you need to get one of your database servers down, and one of your users open a service request that a software is not working, in the CMDB tab of the service request, you can see the user's assets and the software he is using, and the server's/services needed for it to work properly and that your database server is effecting him.